How Long Do Penalty Points Last?
Quick answer: in the UK, speeding points stay on your record for 4 years from the offence and count towards a ban for 3 years; 12 points in 3 years means a ban (usually 6 months), and new drivers lose their licence at 6 points within 2 years of passing. In Ireland points last 3 years and 12 means an automatic 6-month ban. Use the date tool below, or compare countries in the table.
Points rules compared
| Country | How long points last | Ban at | What happens |
|---|---|---|---|
| England, Wales and Scotland | 4 years from the offence (counts for 3); drink/drug driving 11 years | 12 in 3 years (6 within 2 years of passing) | 6 months; 12 months for a 2nd ban in 3 years; 2 years for a 3rd |
| Northern Ireland | 4 years from the offence; fixed-penalty points valid for 3 years | 12 in 3 years (6 within 2 years of passing) | Not stated on the pages we opened |
| Ireland | 3 years from when they are applied (after payment or conviction) | 12 in 3 years (7 for learner and novice drivers) | 6 months, automatic |
| Germany | 2.5 years (1-point offence), 5 years (2 points), 10 years (crime with licence withdrawal), plus 1-year holding period | 8 points (warnings at 4–5 and 6–7) | Licence withdrawn; new one at the earliest after 6 months, usually with an MPU test |
| France | Back to 12 after 2 years (3 years if a serious offence is on record) without a new offence; a single lost point after 6 months | 0 of 12 points (new drivers start on 6) | Licence invalid; wait 6 months (1 year if it happened before in 5 years) |
| Spain | Back to 12 after 2 years without a points offence; a course restores up to 6 | 0 of 12 points (8 for drivers with a licence under 3 years) | New licence only after 6 months (12 if again within 3 years), with a course and tests |
| Italy | Back to 20 after 2 years without a points offence; a course restores 6 | 0 of 20 points | Re-take the theory/technical exam |
| Netherlands | No points for most drivers; new drivers: not stated | New drivers: 2 penalty points (above 30 km/h over, 40 on motorways) | Licence handed in; the CBR decides on a re-test |
Country names link to the official page each rule comes from. In the United States every state runs its own point system; your state's DMV page has the numbers. Check your own record with the official service: GOV.UK View your driving licence (Great Britain). General information, not legal advice.
US states: points before a suspension
| State | Suspension at | Speeding points | How long points count | Course |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| New York | 11 points in 24 months: the licence may be suspended. | 1-10 mph over: 3; 11-20: 4; 21-30: 6; 31-40: 8; over 40: 11; in a work zone: 8. | Only violations in the last 24 months count, measured from the violation date. | An approved Motor Vehicle Crash Prevention Course takes up to 4 points off when DMV calculates a suspension; it does not stop mandatory suspensions. |
| Pennsylvania | 11+ points = automatic suspension (6+ points first means an exam or Driver Improvement School). 1st suspension 5 days per point; 2nd 10 days per point; 3rd 15 days per point; after that 1 year. |
6-10 mph over: 2; 11-15: 3; 16-25: 4; 26-30: 5; 31+: 5 plus a hearing. | 3 points removed for every 12 months without a violation or suspension. | Special Point Exam removes 2 points; Driver Improvement School removes 4 (first accumulation). |
| Florida | 12 points within 12 months; 18 points within 18 months; 24 points within 36 months. Offence dates are used for the calculation (s.322.27(4)). 12 pts/12 mo: 30 days. 18 pts/18 mo: 3 months. 24 pts/36 mo: 1 year (statute: 'not more than' each period). Reinstatement needs Advanced Driver Improvement (ADI) proof and a fee; a hardship licence is possible after ADI. |
Unlawful speed not more than 15 mph over the posted limit = 3 points; more than 15 mph over = 4 points; unlawful speed resulting in a crash = 6 points. No points for speeding caught by traffic infraction enforcement officers under s.316.1896. | Points remain on the driver record for at least five years from the date of disposition (conviction). | A driver with a non-criminal moving violation (non-CDL) can choose Basic Driver Improvement school within 30 days of the citation, once every 12 months and up to 8 times in a lifetime. Otherwise points are assessed. After one reinstated points suspension, 3 points are deducted (s.322.27(3)(h)). |
| Georgia | 15 or more points within 24 months (offence dates are used to measure the period). First points suspension (21+): indefinite until requirements are met; reinstatement is possible immediately on completing an approved defensive driving course. Second and third suspensions: course certificate plus reinstatement fee; no limited permit on the third. |
Speeding (40-6-181), also on bridges, in work zones and school-bus speeding: 15-18 mph over = 2; 19-23 mph over = 3; 24-33 mph over = 4; 34+ mph over = 6. Reckless driving 4; aggressive driving 6. | Counted over a 24-month window from violation dates (12 months for under-18s). When a licence is suspended for points, the point total is restored to zero. | Up to 7 points can be removed once every 5 years after a certified 6-hour Driver Improvement (defensive driving) course (O.C.G.A. 40-5-86). Points avoidance: taking the course after a citation and before court means no points and a 20% lower fine, once every five years. |
| California | 4 points in 12 months, 6 in 24 or 8 in 36 (negligent operator). 1-year probation including a 6-month suspension. |
1 point (1.5 in a Class A/B commercial vehicle). | Convictions and collisions stay on the record for 36 months or longer, depending on the type. | Traffic violator school for a 1-point violation, if the judge allows, once in 18 months; keeps it off the insurance record, not the driving record. |
| Ohio | 12 or more points within any two-year period starting on the date of the first conviction in that period (ORC 4510.037(B)). Warning letter at 6 points. Six months. Reinstatement requires a remedial driving course, an SR-22 for 3 years (1 year for suspensions starting after April 9, 2025), a fee and retaking the full licence exam. |
30+ mph over the limit = 4 points. More than 10 mph over where the limit is 55 mph or higher = 2. More than 5 mph over where the limit is under 55 mph = 2. Anything below those thresholds = 0 points. | Points count toward the 12-point threshold within a two-year period beginning on the date of the first conviction in that period. | Drivers with 2 to 11 points can take an approved remedial driving course for a 2-point credit. Limit is one credit every 3 years and five in a lifetime. No credit is given if a judge ordered the course. |
| New Jersey | 12 or more points: the licence will be suspended. | 1-14 mph over: 2; 15-29: 4; 30+: 5. | MVC keeps a permanent record; 3 points removed for each year without violations or suspensions. | Defensive Driving Program: -2 points, once every 5 years. Driver Improvement Program: -3, once every 2 years when MVC requires it. |
| Michigan | Reexamination at 12 or more points (or six or more one-point violations) within two years (MCL 257.320(1)(d)). At 9 points the SOS may call the driver in for an interview, and failing to appear adds 3 points. Not fixed. The reexamination can leave the licence unaffected, or restrict, suspend or revoke it. Suspensions range 'from days to months' or can be indefinite. A 12-point reexamination is a record review and the driver does not need to appear. |
Over the limit by 1-5 mph = 1 point; 6-10 mph = 2 points; 11-15 mph = 3 points; more than 15 mph = 4 points. Work zone: 10 mph or less = 3; 11-15 mph = 4; more than 15 mph = 5. | Points stay on the driving record for two years from the date of conviction (What Every Driver Must Know, October 2025). | Basic Driver Improvement Course (BDIC): eligible drivers (valid non-CDL licence, 2 or fewer points, ticket of 3 or fewer points) who pass within 60 days of the eligibility letter get no points and insurers are not told. Points can be avoided this way only once. |
| North Carolina | 12 points within 3 years, or 8 within 3 years after reinstatement. 1st: 60 days; 2nd: 6 months; 3rd or later: 1 year. |
Speeding over 55 mph: 3; in a school zone: 3; other moving violations: 2. | Counted in 3-year windows; all points cancelled when the licence is reinstated. | Driver improvement clinic at 7 points: -3 points, once every 5 years. |
| South Carolina | 12 points. 12-15 points: 3 months; 16-17: 4 months; 18-19: 5 months; 20+: 6 months. |
Up to 10 mph over: 2; over 10 and under 25: 4; 25+: 6. | The last 12 months count in full, 12-24 months at half value, older not counted. | Approved defensive driving course: -4 points, once in 3 years. |
| Virginia | 18 demerit points in 12 months or 24 in 24 months (a driver improvement clinic is required at 12 in 12 or 18 in 24). 90 days, then until a driver improvement clinic is completed; probation follows. |
1-9 mph over: 3; 10-19: 4; 20+: 6. | Demerit points are valid for 2 years from the offence date. | Driver improvement clinic: -5 demerit points, once per 2 years. |
| Indiana | not stated on the official page | 1-15 mph over: 2; 16-25: 4; 26+: 6. | Points stay active for 2 years from the conviction date. | BMV-approved Driver Safety Program: 4-point credit, once per 3 years. |
| Illinois | Three or more point-assigned convictions within any 12-month period (age 21+). Under 21: two or more within any 24-month period. Decided by the total points and the driver's past record. Under 21: at least 30 days (minimum one month). Drivers 21+ suspended for 3 months or less after 3 violations in 12 months may get a Probationary Licence after an 8-hour defensive driving class. |
1-10 mph over = 5 points; 11-14 mph over = 15; 15-25 mph over = 20; more than 25 mph over = 50 (26-34 and 35+ mph also 50). School or construction zone speeding = 20; aggravated zone speeding = 55. Too fast for conditions = 10. Reckless driving = 55. | Moving violations stay on the driving record for 4 to 5 years from conviction. If a ticket led to a suspension or revocation, it stays at least 7 years from reinstatement. | No point-removal course is described. Suspended drivers under 21 must take a Driver Remedial Education course before reinstatement. Adults can get a Probationary Licence after an 8-hour Defensive Driving Class. Court supervision for under-18s requires traffic safety school. |
| Texas | Habitual violator: 4 or more moving violations from separate incidents within 12 months, or 7 or more within 24 months (TRC 521.292). Automatic 90-day suspension if no hearing is requested. If a hearing finds against the driver, up to 1 year. Reinstatement fee $100; an occupational licence is possible (DPS DL-176, rev. 10/2025). |
None; Texas assigns no points for speeding. | Not applicable. DRP points and surcharges were waived on Sept 1, 2019, and no new ones are assessed. | — |
| Tennessee | 12 or more points within any 12-month period (drivers 18+): notice of proposed suspension and an administrative hearing. 6-11 points within 1 year = advisory letter only (one per 5 years). 3+ avoidable crashes in 1 year can also trigger action. First offender with 12-20 points: proposed 6-month suspension, or a defensive driving course instead (then 12 months' probation). Over 20 points: 6 or 12 months, no course option. Second/later offender: 6 months if a course was already taken instead of suspension within 5 years; 12 months if also suspended within those 5 years. Missing the hearing: 6 months (12 if in the program within 5 years). Not completing an assigned course: 6 months. |
Non-commercial: 1-5 mph over: 1; 6-15: 3; 16-25: 4; 26-35: 5; 36-45: 6; 46+: 8; speed not shown: 3. Work zone: 1-5: 2; 6-15: 4; 16-25: 5; 26-35: 6; 36+: 8; speed not shown: 4. Reckless driving 6; reckless endangerment 8; passing a stopped school bus 8; failure to stop at a rail crossing 8. | Each time a crash or violation is posted, the Department looks back 24 months to see whether 12+ points fall within any 12-month period; convictions more than 2 years old when the Department receives them are not used. How long points stay visible on the record is not stated in the rule (tn.gov points page blocked). | Speeding points (max 5) are removed after a department-approved defensive driving course completed within 90 days of the speeding conviction; one speeding offence per course, once in a four-year period (Public Chapter 710, from 1 July 2022). From 1 July 2026 (Public Chapter 993) a driver who pays the fine without going to court can register for an online department-approved course with the same 5-point removal. Separately, a first-time Driver Improvement Program driver may take an 8-hour defensive driving course instead of suspension. |
Each state links to the official DMV page or state code the rule comes from. Not yet confirmed because their official sites could not be opened from our checker: ; use your state DMV's own page.